Super Smooth(ie)

It’s been a busy couple of weeks here, which usually leads to some not-so-healthy food choices. I’ll spare you the details, but let’s just say I needed to stock up on pasta and pierogi again this past weekend.

Whenever we go through a period like this, I end up with this massive need to eat all of the healthy things in existence. My lunches become quinoa- and chard-filled, I buy a (normal person’s) lifetime supply of Greek yoghurt at Costco, and I stick everything that’s green into my blender to make smoothies when I have time.

I like yoghurt, ok? Don’t judge.

Anyways, since I have the Oh She Glows app on my phone, I check it daily to see if Angela has put up a new recipe. There are quite a few smoothie recipes on there, and between the two OSG cookbooks and the app, I have a TON of inspiration for smoothies. And since I was hit with a major craving this morning, I decided to do smoothies for lunch. This meant they’d have to pass the hubby-test AND the baby-test. Talk about stressful.

Green Mango Smoothie

Here’s what I came up with:

Green Mango Smoothie (Thickie)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup apple juice/cider
  • 1 cup milk (any kind works, I tried both cow’s milk and coconut milk to great reviews)
  • 1/2 cup Greek yoghurt (optional)
  • 1 tart or semi-sweet apple (Granny Smith or Gala apples work well), cored and peeled
  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups frozen mango pieces (can use fresh)
  • 1 1/2 cups spinach
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup (optional, still nice and sweet without it)
  • 1 tbsp protein powder (I used an unflavoured hemp powder this time)
  • 1 tbsp hemp hearts
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • Ice cubes (optional, if you want a thinner consistency)

Method

  • Place everything except the maple syrup and ice cubes into your blender and blend until smooth.
  • Add ice cubes (or juice) if a thinner consistency is required.
  • Add maple syrup to taste.
  • Enjoy!

I think this is the best smoothie I have made to date. We all LOVED IT. This is extra awesome, especially since my toddler changes her favourite food more often than we change her diaper. She gulped down this smoothie in record time, then turned to me and asked: More? More? More? Total success.

Green Mango Smoothie

If I was making this just for myself, I would use one cup of mango and add a cup of greens (lettuce, sprouts, microgreens). I would also probably add 1 tbsp of flax seeds.

**Please note, the recipe for the Green Mango Smoothie is mine, but has been inspired by the many recipes from Oh She Glows. The views and experiences above are my own and not endorsed/influenced by Oh She Glows or any other third party.

Leave a Reply

