For The Love of Matcha

We all have favourite flavours and favourite foods. My favourite fruit is mango, favourite candy flavour is banana (the fake one that they use in kids penicillin!)… And anything matcha. I LOVE matcha. My go-to at Starbucks in the green tea latte (made with matcha of course). I seek out matcha ice cream whenever I can. So you can imagine my delight when I found not one but two matcha-based recipes in the new Oh She Glows app. I decided that I had to try them ASAP.

Mighty Matcha Wheatgrass Protein Smoothie

The first one I tried was the Mighty Matcha Wheatgrass Protein Smoothie. My first attempts left something to be desired, so the second time around I added a teaspoon of maple syrup.

Bingo!

Mighty Matcha Wheatgrass Protein Smoothie

Let’s talk details.

Yield:

  • Original Yield: 2-2.5 cups
  • Actual Yield: 2 cups

Prep Time:

  • Original Prep Time: 5 minutes (total time)
  • Actual Prep Time: 3 minutes

Make Time:

  • Original Make Time: included in prep 
  • Actual Make Time: 2 minutes

Notes or comments:

  • As mentioned above, I needed to add some maple syrup to this smoothie for a touch of sweetness. I love the mild bitterness of matcha but this smoothie needed the sweetness.
  • I’ve since made this smoothie with cow’s milk and without wheatgrass, and every combination I’ve tried is yummy (just include the sweetener!)
  • I used honey as a sweetener and it works just as well as maple syrup.

Verdict: Success (with modifications)! This is as easy as it gets. My blender has liquid measurements on the sides so I didn’t even have to use a measuring cup and I didn’t have to eye-ball the milk amount (what can I say, I’m not a fan of doing dishes)! I happen to always have most of the ingredients for this smoothie on hand (wheatgrass juice/cubes being an exception), so I can whip this treat up easily and in the same amount of time as it takes to make hubby his coffee. Total win!!

Mighty Matcha Wheatgrass Protein Smoothie
**Please note, the recipe for Mighty Matcha Wheatgrass Protein Smoothie is not mine. The views and experiences above are my own and not endorsed/influenced by Oh She Glows or any other third party.

Leave a Reply

