Back on Track Trail Mix

It’s been a while since I’ve had time to post anything, but things are finally starting to slow down and get back to normal. I’ve actually been working on a few posts here and there but they’re all unfinished as of yet.

Motivation? What motivation?

I think I’ve mentioned that just before our move back in June, we emptied our fridge and ended up living off of frozen meals… Lots of lasagna, pizza, and pierogi. During the move, we continued having frozen dinners along with eating out at fast food restaurants. The trend continued (although we did start cooking at home more and more) while my sister visited in mid-July. It’s not until then, though, that we really went back to eating healthy and cooking at home.

My big issue with all of this has been not being hungry. I went from being at home with my little one (and subsequently have 24/7 access to my fridge) to being at work for 10 hours a day plus about an hour and a half total commute time. I need quite a few options for food now.

I totally blame my office’s lack of built-in desk fridges. Those should be a thing. Right?

Right?

*crickets*

Ok fine.

My change in daily activities, though, does mean that I need to make sure to bring several snacks to work. If I don’t, the cafeteria downstairs ends up selling me one too many donuts. Totally their fault.

When I have a break at work, I like to browse the Oh She Glows recipes, and a couple of weeks ago I came across this post on a make-ahead lunch menu. Hidden in the yummy ideas was this Go Go Glow Mix. Can you say delicious?

I was feeling super-inspired by it, so the other day I trekked to the local Bulk Barn, grabbed a bunch of nuts, fruits, seeds, and some dark chocolate-covered espresso beans, and got to work.

This is what I ended up with.

Back on Track Mix

Yuuuuuuuummyyyy!

It’s not quite the same as Angela’s mix, but one of the great things about trail mixes is how versatile they are. You can keep what you like (or have around in your pantry) and leave out what you don’t want.

Here’s my version of the Go Go Glow Mix:

Yield: about 4 cups

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Ingredients

  • 2 cups raw mixed nuts (mine had no peanuts)
  • 1/2 cup dried goji berries
  • 1/2 cup dried unsweetened cranberries
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate-covered espresso beans (or chocolate chips)

Directions

  • Pour all ingredients into a bowl or container (preferably with a lid).
  • Close the lid and shake to mix.
  • Enjoy!


I added about 1/3 of a cup to my packed lunch today and it was the perfect mid-morning snack. I ended up with about 3 of the espresso beans and it was just enough to give me a tiny caffeine boost without making me jittery or sick. I’m still breastfeeding so I’m making sure to have very little caffeine or none at all. I don’t even want to know what a cup of coffee would do to me now… I haven’t had one in over two years!

With things being more normal now, I’m hoping to be able to post more often. I’ve been trying out recipes and have a few backlogged posts I need to finish for you guys. Think refreshing summer salads, frosty smoothies, and even a short, tiny-bit-spoilerish-but-not-too-much-given-away review of the hottest book of the summer (if you thought Harry Potter and the Cursed Child you are correct)!

Hope to see you back!

*This recipe is my own and was created based on inspiration from the Oh She Glows Go Go Glo mix. The views and experiences above are mine and not endorsed/influenced by Oh She Glows or any other third party.

Leave a Reply

