The Missing Orange

I’m sure you’ve all had a similar experience… You find a yummy-looking, fairly easy recipe in Pinterest that’s got quite a few repins and you decide to give it a shot you already have all of the ingredients, so it shouldn’t be too hard, right? You start working and everything seems to be perfect. You pop the stuff in the oven/pot/slow cooker, and wait.

You check the timer/clock several times as the yummy smells fill your kitchen.

Ding! Time to try this!

It looks great, smells amazing, and you can’t wait to dig in. Maybe it needs to rest for 10 minutes or cool for an hour.

You finally go to have your first taste and… Huh. It’s underwhelming. Boring. Plain. Too sticky. Too greasy. Too watery. Not bad, but not at all great.

 

Greasy
You can see the grease from one slice!
 
Oh well. Maybe next time, right?

I recently had this sad experience, and it sucks that it wasn’t the first time it’s happened to me with a Pinterest recipe. Now I’ve been lucky, because most of the recipes I’ve tried came out quite well, some much better than others, but very few have been complete flops or haven’t lived up to the hype.

I had such high hopes for this Orange Pound Cake from Roti ‘N Rice, but it totally fell flat for me. Not only did it lack the orange flavour I had so wanted it to have, it came out very, very, greasy (the picture of the paper towel is the best I could do, but it was like blotting an oily pizza… You guys do that too, right?). From the pictures I can tell this this isn’t a standard pound cake (it’s definitely more moist), but it was just too much fat for me. When I took the cake from the oven there was some butter floating around the edges, like it does for a Dutch baby/Yorkshire pudding. Not at all what I was expecting. Also, the cake ended up having a bit of a crunchy crust (I’m going to fault the amount of butter floating around), which wasn’t bad the day after but was a bit off-putting the first time I tried it. Orange Pound Cake 

Here are the details:

Yield:

  • Original Yield: 1 8in x 4in loaf
  • Actual Yield: 1 loaf (about the given size)

Prep Time:

  • Original Prep Time: 15 minutes
  • Actual Prep Time: 20 minutes

Bake Time:

  • Original Bake Time: 55 minutes
  • Actual Bake Time: 55 minutes

Note or Comments:

  • As I noted, this cake came out overly greasy from the large amount of butter (in proportion to other ingredients). To retain a texture that is less greasy but still moist, I increased the amount of flour to 8.1oz (2 cups + 1 tbsp). I have not tried to make this cake into a traditional pound cake as I don’t believe it’s meant to be that way.
  • My biggest disappointment was the lack of orange flavour in this cake. I doubled the amount of orange zest and added 1 tbsp of orange extract to get more of that flavour into the cake.
  • I fixed the crust issue by increasing the amount of flour and by ensuring that I don’t over-mix the batter.

Verdict: Unsuccessful, Needs Modification. Even with the fixes I used, this isn’t my ideal pound cake. To be fair, I’m used to a pound cake that’s all soft, a little dry, and mildly flavoured. The changes I made made enough of a difference to me that I would try to play with the recipe more, so not all is lost. Roti ‘N Rice has lots of other delicious-looking recipes, and I won’t let this one flop stop me from trying some of the others!

**Please note, the recipe for Orange Pound Cake is in no way mine. The views and experiences above are my own and not endorsed/influenced by Roti ‘N Rice or any other third party.

Leave a Reply

