Good Morning, Sunshine!

Overnight OatsOne of the things I have been working on since the birth of my little one is going back to being healthy. Before becoming pregnant, I did yoga several times a week, worked hard on eating well, and did things to relax. Then, while training for a 5km run, I found out I was expecting, so I stopped running (it wasn’t normal exercise for me, so I didn’t want to overdo it), did yoga for a couple more months (again, I didn’t want to overdo it so I scaled down the asanas I did before stopping yoga altogether), and settled into being comfortable more than anything. I was lucky, since I didn’t have morning sickness (I was sick maybe once?), but I had severe nausea and food aversion for the first trimester and then some. Pork, for example, was out of the question until after my little one was born. For the record, ginger candies and mint saved me during those weeks! (Mint can cause issues during pregnancy, so use with caution and as always, talk to your midwife/OBGYN before trying a remedy).

I also had cravings, and although I didn’t want leather shoes (my oddest craving had to be Chinese food and chocolate cake… Together…), I did crave chicken nuggets, Kraft Dinner macaroni and cheese (no other brand!), and most significantly, donuts. Normally, I can eat one or two donuts and be done. I think my record was 6. Now, I tried my best to eat well for the duration of my pregnancy, but when you’re nauseated and want donuts and mac and cheese… Well, you eat donuts and mac and cheese. Better than not keeping food down at all, I think.

After having my little one, our focus was healthy but convenient food; our first few weeks as a family of three made for little time to cook so we had lots of frozen lasagnas, veggie trays, and other quick meals (mostly frozen). After a couple of months, things settled back to normal. We started going to the farmer’s market again, so our diet improved, and we actually had some time and energy to cook and eat healthy. As a breastfeeding mom, losing weight is far from a priority; eating well, getting in some exercise where possible, and spending time with the baby were top of my list. Obviously, I shed weight (one of the benefits of breastfeeding for moms!).

I’m continuing the trend of keeping healthy as 2015 became 2016, and since the holidays are over and I have more time to myself again, I have started doing yoga once more, as well as focusing on healthy, wholesome meals and snacks, and taking time for myself. It’s easier than I thought it would be, too! I have several tools that I use, one of them being Pinterest of course, and I’d love to share them with you in the next few posts.

Let’s start with a super-popular recipe from Pinterest… I’m talking about overnight oats. Can breakfast get any better? Rough measure the ingredients, mix together, pop into the fridge, and a healthy, delicious breakfast is ready!

I have found probably six or seven million recipes on Pinterest for this popular dish, and when I started out I wasn’t sure what to expect, so instead of following one recipe, I sorta combined a few and made it my own (although in the millions of recipes out there I’m pretty sure mine may already exist… I just haven’t come across it yet). Here are the three posts I took for inspiration:

I’m sure these recipes are amazing, but lucky for me, my personalised, amalgamated version turned out delicious and I haven’t bothered to try any others since. So, let me hop on the Overnight Oats bandwagon and add my version of this easy and healthy food to the millions out there! 

Overnight Oats
You can’t go wrong with fresh fruit!
 

Yield: 1 serving (this can easily be halved or multiplied)
Prep Time: 5 minutes
Wait/’Cook’ Time: minimum 3 hours, best left overnight

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup steel-cut or rolled oats (if you cut the wait time to about 30 minutes, you can use quick cooking oats, but it gets a bit too mushy for me)
  • 1 cup milk (any kind, including dairy-free)
  • 1 tbsp Greek yoghurt
  • 2 tsp chia seeds (you can use flax seeds for a bit of crunch and nuttiness)
  • 1 tbsp jam/nut butter/honey
  • Handful of fruit/nuts to mix before eating (optional)

Method:

  1. Measure out and pour together your oats, milk, chia seeds, yoghurt, and jam/nut butter/honey. Mix well.
  2. Pour mixture into one or more lidded containers (mason jars are popular, but I use my Sistema soup cup as it’s more convenient for me).
  3. Refrigerate for at least three hours, preferably overnight.
  4. Before eating, add chopped fruit and/or nuts, mixing gently, if desired.

Variations:

  • Any kind of berry jam and fresh berries
  • Peanut butter and fresh banana
  • Honey and fresh banana and berries
  • Honey and cinnamon and apples
  • Almond butter and apples
  • Honey and cocoa powder and strawberries

If you have any other flavour combination ideas, I’d love to hear about them! I’m always looking to try something tasty and new!

Next time, I’ll tell you about a neat little app that’s already very popular that I’ve grown to absolutely adore! Overnight Oats 

**This recipe is my own and was created based on recipes from Another Root, Tastes Better From Scratch, and Taste of Lizzy T. The views and experiences above are mine and not endorsed/influenced by Another Root, Tastes Better From Scratch, Taste of Lizzy T, Sistema or any other third party.

Leave a Reply

