Picky Eaters

I am not a picky eater. If it’s food, I’ll probably eat it, and if I don’t know if I like it or not, I’ll try it at least once. I admit that there are foods I’m not a fan of, but that list is tiny. I’ll also mention that vinegar and I are NOT friends (I don’t like the taste and foods with a substantial amount of vinegar make me sick), so anything pickled is out (so are things like Salt and Vinegar chips). So pickled things, organs (I tried heart once and never again!), and maybe one or two other things. I’ve always enjoyed unpopular foods such as Brussel sprouts, spinach, and wheat berries.

My hubby, on the other hand, is much more picky with food than I am. Some of it is a texture thing, which isnt something he can control (if it’s wet and not “supposed” to be, such as liquids scrambled eggs or dark meat from poultry, he won’t touch it). Other things he just doesn’t like; seafood (crispy, breaded white fish is an exception), leafy green vegetables (the ever-popular kale, chard, collard greens, etc), lasagna with chicken, eggplant, most squash…. It’s not the biggest list, but it can be tough for me, who loves those foods. Neither of us thinks it’s smart to cook two separate dinners. Lucky for me, we almost always find a way to compromise, such as using half the amount of spinach in a recipe, or doing a breaded fish with homemade crust.

We’re also lucky, as so far, our little one seems to have acquired my love of food; while my friends tell me how their babies refuse to eat anything green or don’t like carrots and bananas, my baby will eat anything we give her. We haven’t even come across having to try things multiple times with her, as she just eats what we give her. Sure, she gobbles up the strawberry-banana purée a lot faster than the not-as-sweet beet-carrot-quinoa mix, but she eats it all the same. We’re hoping it continues this way.

One food that many people seem to dislike is mushrooms. Both hubby and I absolutely love them and we use them often in our dishes. Pair mushrooms with cheese and were in heaven! As you can imagine, when I came across this recipe for Mushroom Asiago Chicken from The Midnight Baker, I popped it on our weekly menu asap. It turned out absolutely amazing (it’s no wonder, as the recipe has won a couple of awards!). Go make this now!

 Mushroom Asiago Chicken 
Yield:

  • Original Yield: 4 servings
  • Actual Yield: 2 servings (we skipped on having a veggie… Bad us…)

Prep Time:

  • Original Prep Time: 10 minutes
  • Actual Prep Time: 25 minutes (slicing mushrooms should be done on a mandolin…)

Cook Time:

  • Original Cook Time: 30 minutes
  • Actual Cook Time: 35 minutes

Notes or comments from the author:

  • In the ingredient list, the oil is given as being 2 tbsp when it should really be 2 tbsp, divided.
  • Judith mentions that you can use Parmesan or Romano cheese if you don’t have Asiago. I will vouch that using Parmesan works amazingly well.
  • A commenter on the blog had substituted the chicken for boneless pork chops and apparently got amazing results. Versatile recipes are awesome!

Verdict: Success! This recipe is one to keep and use again and again. This would make an amazing dish to serve at a fancy dinner party (it’s super easy too), or for a romantic dinner for two. You can serve it with veggies (asparagus or broccoli would be a good match) and pasta, arborio rice, or even a mild mashed potato (skip the bold flavours and let the potatoes absorb the sauce!).

 Mushroom Asiago Chicken 
**Please note, the recipe for Mushroom Asiago Chicken is in no way mine. The views and experiences above are mine and not endorsed/influenced by The Midnight Baker or any other third party.

Leave a Reply

