Holidays Equal Cookies

Everyone has at least one dominating thought that pops up the moment someone mentions holidays. It could be a dish your mom always makes for dinner that evening (Thanksgiving and Christmas mean stuffing!!!!!!!!), or it could be a tradition (breakfast in bed, a fun dessert). For me, there is one overarching thought that comes to mind when I think of any holiday, and that is… Cookies!

Cookies are always a good idea. Shortbread cookies, sugar cookies, gingerbread, chocolate chip, soft-baked, crispy… Gimme a cookie and I’ll be good. Pinterest is filled with hundreds and thousands of different kinds of cookies, and I have a good number of those pins on my baking board. I also have a number of amazing cookbooks devoted to baking (and a couple specifically about cookies!). Needless to say, whenever any kind of holiday, or special occasion, comes around, I’m ready to celebrate with any kind of cookie you desire. 

Butter Cookies Hallowe’en was just a couple of weeks ago, and hubby, little one, and I were invited to a get-together by a friend of mine. I offered to bring cookies, of course. I didn’t pick a recipe from Pinterest this time, although I’m sure it’s on there somewhere. I found the recipe for these Butter Cookies in my Ricardo: Best Cookies book, which I then found on the site here.

These cookies were delicious! They were yummy plain and even yummier iced. I made my own icing, as per usual. It’s super simple: 1 cup of icing sugar, 2 tbsp heavy cream, 2-4 tbsp milk or water (for your desired consistency), 1 tsp vanilla or other flavour extract. Whisk together. I added some food paste to get the colours I used (I had orange pumpkins that aren’t in any of the pictures). I put my icing into a piping bag and pipes a border around the cookie before flooding it, but you can easily just dip the cookie into the icing as well.

It also helps that they were super easy and require only a few ingredients you most likely already have on hand. If you’re looking for a basic cookie recipe that can be used for any occasion, this is it.

 Butter Cookies 
Yield:

  • Original Yield: 4 dozen
  • Actual Yield: 4 dozen

Prep Time:

  • Original Prep Time: 25 minutes + 1hour cooling time
  • Actual Prep Time: 30 minutes + 1hour cooling time

Bake Time:

  • Original Bake Time: 12 minutes
  • Actual Bake Time: 12 minutes

Notes or comments from the author:

  • This recipe says to put the dough in the fridge for 1 hour. You can speed things up by popping the dough in the freezer for no more than 15 minutes.

Verdict: Success! This is a recipe in keeping around for sure. It’s simple, yummy, and you can use different flavours to make them your own. Why not try orange and vanilla with a sprinkle of nutmeg and cinnamon for something Christmasy, or strawberry with some cocoa powder for Valentines?

 Butter Cookies

**Please note, the recipe for Butter Cookies is in no way mine. The views and experiences above are mine and not endorsed/influenced by Ricardo Cuisine or any other third party. 

Leave a Reply

