Getting Naked… With Herbal Essences!

The folks over at BzzAgent sent me a campaign invite for the new Herbal Essences shampoo line, and I just had to get in on it. Why? Let me give you some background on hair care in my world.

My hair has always been sort of on the boring side. I’d get it cut once in a year or three, I used just shampoo until I was about 15 (conditioner was some magical substance), and it’s been up in a pony tail or down and in my face for about 95% of my life. I used to think braids were a fancy hair do.

I think I remember mentioning that I lived under a rock for about 16 years?

Anyhow. My hair routine was revolutionised when I discovered conditioner (remember that rock? Here it is again), and some time later, I went to a salon for the first time for a haircut. I was about 18 at the time. Fast forward to a few years ago, and my hair needed help, so I turned to more natural, organic shampoos and conditioners that were paraben and SLS free. I tried out several options from the Live Clean and Yes To Carrots, and I liked all but one of them (it wasn’t right for my hair), but none seemed to help my hair look or feel healthier.

I mentioned this to my hair dresser and she suggested a salon brand, Redken, that’s done wonders for my hair. Seriously. My hair has never looked better. So when I saw the campaign for the Herbal Essences line, I was actually a little on the fence about testing it out, but then I realised that I had a great baseline as a comparison, so I went for it.

The Herbal Essences Naked Collection products leave zero residue and are free of silicones, parabens and dyes

Infused with white grapefruit, mint extract, guava, white tea, pineapple and more, hair will smell as good as it looks

Herbal Essences Naked Shine 
I chose the Shine line of products and waited for them to arrive. I received three products: shampoo, conditioner, and dry shampoo. I decided to put the dry shampoo to the test right away and have used it about 5 times since. I used the shampoo and conditioner about 10 times. I’ll review each product separately where applicable, and give the line an overall rating. Also, BzzAgent didn’t ask for a blog post this time, but I figured I’d do one anyways!

Let’s get to it!

Here’s the new product’s claim to fame:

  • The Herbal Essences Naked Collection products leave zero residue and are free of silicones, parabens and dyes
  • Infused with white grapefruit, mint extract, guava, white tea, pineapple and more, hair will smell as good as it looks

Let’s start with the first point… I’ll divide it in two for a max of two stars. My Redken shampoo and conditioner leave no residue in my hair, and I love how that makes my hair feel. After the first few washes, I didn’t feel any residue leftover in my hair, but after the 8th or 9th wash, I did notice my hair felt a bit more weighed down than before. I used the Redken line once and returned to using the Herbal Essences line, and my hair felt amazing again. I give this component a half star, for almost living up to its promise and for doing much better than other brands at keeping residue at a minimum.

The second part of that claim is that the products are free from silicones, parabens, and dyes. The shampoo has all three ingredients at 0% marked explicitly on the front of the bottle, while the conditioner and dry shampoo have 0% parabens and dyes. From what I know, conditioners don’t usually contain silicone. The dry shampoo contains natural tapioca starch, which is a great bonus. One star, for telling the truth.

The second claim talks about the ingredients and their lasting scent. The Shine line contains white tea and mint… And it smells divine. It’s crisp, fresh, sweet, and not overpowering. I’d use the products just for the scent! The dry shampoo leaves the scent in the longest, as I could smell it for the entire day after using it, while the shampoo and conditioner leave a gentle scent for a short while. I’m also going to note that my hair doesn’t keep scent in it for long, so others may have a different experience. One huge, shiny, bright star here for the delicious scent. I can’t comment on those of the Moisture or Volume lines, but if the Shine line is anything to go by, they’ll smell amazing, too! (You have no proof that I’ll be looking for them and giving them a good sniff next time I’m at the drug store…)

The second part of the second claim is that your hair will look amazing, and from my gushing review of the scent, you’d think my hair would be salon-perfect after every wash, right? My hair looked equally as shiny and healthy when I started using the shampoo and conditioner, although it wasn’t as soft as when I used my Redken products. I also noticed that over time, my hair became a bit more dull (I’m thinking the minor residue was the issue), although I will admit that my hair was never shiny to begin with. This is still a huge improvement over other hair care products I’ve used in the past. The dry shampoo did its job amazingly, and kept my hair looking clean and with extra volume for two whole days. It did leave a bit of white residue that did NOT want to be brushed out no matter how hard I tried, however, which was a small downside. Overall, I’d give this claim half a star.

My last star comes from the line as a whole as compared to the more natural and organic products I’ve used lately. Unlike many of the ‘natural’ hair care products (such as Yes To Carrots, Live Clean, Burts Bees, etc), the Herbal Essences Naked lines are not SLS-free. SLS is the stuff that makes your soaps and shampoos (and other cleaning products) foam into a rich lather. It’s been said that it is a carcinogen (both proven and disproven many times) and is a known skin irritant, especially for those with very sensitive skin. I try to avoid it when possible, but I don’t go out of my way to do so. Also unlike many of the ‘natural’ products, it’s dye-free. It’s nice to see that useless extras like harmful dyes can be omitted in these products (does it really matter if your shampoo is blue or red or lime green?). In my opinion, the Herbal Essences Naked line is a better alternative to the chemical-laden (all if this stuff is made of chemicals, I know) drugstore hair products available, and about the same as the ‘natural’ products available. It’ll get another half-star for this. I will add, though, that the dry shampoo is quite a bit better than the others available, and I’ll give that specific product a whole star.

Let’s total up the stars…

3.5/4 for the dry shampoo. Not bad! Would I buy this product if I was out buying a new shampoo and conditioner? Maybe. Dry shampoo? For sure. I’ll keep using it all until the bottles are nice and empty! And once the dry shampoo runs out, I’ll be buying myself another one. The new Herbal Essences Naked line is definitely worth a try, and I’d suggest swapping it with your Pantene or Garnier any day (don’t tell them I said that!). Herbal Essences Naked  

**Please note that all opinions and views are my own and are not influenced/endorsed by BzzAgent, Herbal Essences, or any other third party. I received three full-sized products for this campaign from Herbal Essences by signing up for this campaign through BzzAgent.

Leave a Reply

