When In Doubt, Add Cheese

I’ve had an urge to write for a few weeks now. I have a short story, a novel, and a YA series on the go, but I haven’t written much at all in over a year. Normally I wouldn’t use excuses (although writer’s block is a real thing!), but preparing to have a baby while working full time and then having said baby have taken up all of my ‘me time’ so fun things like writing and video games have been on the back burner for a while. Now that my little one is becoming a bit more independent (as independent as a 7-month-old can be) and takes regular naps, I have been trying to get a few things going.

This blog is one of those things. For me, the more I read and write, the fewer issues I have with writing more. It’s a beautiful cycle that works both ways… The less I read and write, the worse my writing gets. 

Gaming is definitely another thing for me, but I’ve been less successful with that one. Oh well. I can always watch hubby play Assassin’s Creed instead of playing it myself. Spending time with my little one trumps everything else, anyways.

One way that hubby and I try to make more time for our little one is by having quick and easy dinner options available. I’m all for fresh food whenever possible, but some things, like meat and fish, we buy in larger quantities and freeze it. We also buy breaded frozen fish filets, as they’re quick and tasty, but to mention fairly healthy, too.

Battered fish just begs to be eaten with fries, but not only do we not have a deep fryer, fries aren’t exactly healthy. That’s when I turned to my trusty Pinterest dinner board and found the perfect Damn Delicious recipe to make with the fish: Cheesy Garlic Fries in Foil. It was also a quickie, we had the ingredients on hand, and (as a bonus) they baked at the temperature as the fish! 

Can you really go wrong with cheese and garlic? I mean, come on. Cheese. It’s one of those ingredients you can’t ever have too much of in my opinions. It’s cheese! In this case with garlic, over potatoes. They turned out to be very yummy, too.

Cheesy Garlic Fries

Yield:

  • Original Yield: 4 servings
  • Actual Yield: 4 servings

Prep Time:

  • Original Prep Time: 10 minutes
  • Actual Prep Time: 30 minutes

Cook Time:

  • Original Cook Time: 40 minutes
  • Actual Cook Time: 50 minutes

Notes or comments from the author:

  • The cook time given is 40 minutes, although the recipe says 30-35 minutes for baking, plus 2-3 minutes broiling to melt the cheese.
  • Chungah mentions that larger potato slices will take longer to bake. I cut my potatoes fairly small and they took 45 minutes to bake.

Verdict: Success! This is a side we will definitely be making again. The garlicky flavour really came through and you really can’t go wrong with heaps of cheese. Seriously.   

Cheesy Garlic Fries

**Please note, the recipe for Cheesy Garlic Fries in Foil is in no way mine. The views and experiences above are mine and not endorsed/influenced by Damn Delicious or any other third party.
  

Leave a Reply

