A Chilli Evening

Autumn is here. Officially. Or at least I think it is… Apparently over the next three days the temperature is supposed to go back up to 20C, which makes me super happy, but the past few weeks have been fairly cool… Parts of Ontario even saw their first snowfall a couple weeks back.

Climate change, people. It’s real.

Anticipating more cool weather on the way, I had rounded up a boat-load of yummy recipes perfect for cool weather; I have lots of soups, comfort foods like mac & cheese, and a few chilli recipes to try out this season. I’ve shared a few soups already, and I was looking for something heartier, so I decided to give this Slow-Cooker Steak Chilli from Everyday Reading a try.

I’ve been following Everyday Reading for several years now… I was ‘introduced’ to Janssen and her blog through that of her younger sister Merrick (of Merrick’s Art fame… She has an amazing sense of style and I’ve been following her since her third post or something haha!) and then I found their youngest sister Landen (Measure and Whisk is also a fun blog to follow). I had never made anything from any of these blogs, but when I saw the steak chilli recipe I had to give it a try. Not only did it look simple and delicious, it also gave me an excuse to mention their blogs here (they’re all quite popular in their own right, but good publicity never hurt anyone!).

Now, while the end product was tasty, I’m definitely going to try some other chilli recipes before coming back to this one. As you’ll see, the recipe is a bit vague and I made a few modifications along the way for it to be the way we liked it. Here are the details.

 Steak Chilli 
Yield:

  • Original Yield: none given
  • Actual Yield: 2-3 servings (I doubled the recipe to make 6 servings)

Prep Time:

  • Original Prep Time: none given
  • Actual Prep Time: 15 minutes

Cook Time:

  • Original Cook Time: 8 hours (on low)
  • Actual Cook Time: 8 hours

Notes or comments from the author:

  • Janssen doesn’t say what to do with the steak, so I decided to cut it into 1-inch chunks before tossing it into the slow cooker.
  • Similarly to the meat, there were no instructions for the whole tomatoes, which stayed pretty whole during cooking, so I cut them up before serving.
  • Once the chilli was done cooking, I noticed that it was a bit too soupy for our taste. I ended up using the rest of the can of tomato paste (the tiny 156ml one) and that thickened it up perfectly.
  • Janssen suggests serving the chilli with toppings of your choice, mentioning her toppings of sour cream, cheddar, and Fritos. We had ours with sour cream and cheddar only, and it was perfect that way.

Verdict: Success (with modifications)! This is a tasty chilli, but not one I’d write home about. It’s good, don’t get me wrong, and maybe I just don’t know my chillis, but it wasn’t bursting with flavour as I had expected. One thing I really liked about this recipe, though, is that it wasn’t spicy. It was the perfectly mild kind of chilli I had hoped for (and that may have been why it wasn’t as flavourful as I had thought it would be… I’m not sure). We’ll keep this recipe around and give some others a try before deciding if we want to make this one again.

 Steak Chilli

 **Please note, the recipe for Slow Cooker Steak Chilli is in no way mine. The views and experiences above are mine and not endorsed/influenced by Everyday Reading, Merrick’s Art, Measure and Whisk or any other third party.

      Leave a Reply

      