Roll With It

So on Monday, I talked about this yummy cream of mushroom soup. I also mentioned that I made some amazing rolls to go with the soup. Can we talk about those rolls? We need to talk about the rolls. Rolls 

Having dinner rolls is a bit of a foreign concept to me. Growing up in a Polish household, bread didn’t usually have a place on the dinner table, and the only time it did was when everyday bread (usually rye at my house) was sliced and served with soup. Even then, only my dad ate bread with his soup. I still find the idea of bread with dinner to be a bit strange, but I’ve developed a love for fresh bread with homemade soup. There’s just something about it!

On the day I was making the mushroom soup, I knew I was going to make a bread or rolls, so I started browsing my savoury baking board on Pinterest to see if something stood out. I usually turn to my French bread recipe, but I wanted to make something different. Then I found these Amazing Dinner Rolls from Cooking Classy. They looked delicious, but I didn’t want to make 24 rolls… I didn’t think we’d eat more than two or three each, and even with leftovers the next day 12 would be more than enough. I decided to try the recipe, but halved it. I almost never modify a recipe before trying it, so I was nervous about how they’d turn out, but there was nothing to be nervous about. They were amazing!

I can vouch that the recipe is as easy and delicious halved as it is in full. See, these rolls turned out to be so yummy that I had to made a fresh batch the next day to go with dinner. That’s right. We ate 6 rolls each the first night (I think I had seven and left hubby with only 5, but that’s still nuts!). No extra butter. No dipping (not for the first one anyway). These rolls disappeared fast. We still had half-full bowls of soup fast. I’m wanting to make them now. Just to eat alone. They’re that good. Maybe it’s because I’ve only made rolls two or three times in my life, or maybe because bread of any sort at dinner is a novelty to me, but I want these with every meal. Go make these. Now.

  
Yield:

  • Original Yield: 24 rolls
  • Actual Yield: 24 rolls (the recipe is easily halved or doubled)

Prep Time:

  • Original Prep Time: none given
  • Actual Prep Time: 30 minutes + 1.5 hours first rise time + 10 minutes prep + 1 hour second rise time

Bake Time:

  • Original Bake Time: 15-19 minutes
  • Actual Bake Time: 17 minutes

Notes or comments from the author:

  • As I mentioned a few times, this recipe is easily halved and doubled without having to make complicated changes to ingredient amounts. Just halve or double the amount given. Easy peasy. Take my word for it, though. There’s no point in halving the recipe. 24 rolls aren’t going to last very long… And if by some miracle you don’t eat them all in one sitting, you can freeze them easily. 
  • These rolls are great for freezing. To thaw, place in your fridge over night, then warm up in your oven (325F for 10 minutes) and brush with melted butter (about 1 tbsp/12 rolls) before serving. Again, super easy!
  • The author, , mentions using less or more flour depending on your local elevation and/or humidity level. I didn’t have to change anything, but some of you might!

Verdict: Success! I am making these again. Probably several times over. These are the most delicious, buttery, fluffy rolls I’ve ever had. You need to go make these. Like, now. I know the rise times make it a recipe that isn’t great to start when you get home at 5pm from work and are starved, but make these on a Sunday, freeze them maybe, or just have them the next day (although they are tastiest fresh from the oven).

 Rolls 

** Please note, the recipe for Amazing Dinner Rolls is in no way mine. The views and experiences above are mine and not endorsed/influenced by Cooking Classy or any other third party.

    Leave a Reply

    