The No-Can Policy

 Cream of Mushroom Soup I’m all for swapping out crap-filled, store-bought foods and staples for homemade versions. Why buy a can of sodium-laden, preservative-filled chicken stock when you can make a huge batch at home and freeze it in different portion sizes? Toaster strudels? I’ll go make some puff pastry. Cream of mushroom soup? Fresh mushrooms and cream please! Now, not everything you buy in store is bad for you, of course. And not everything is necessarily worth the time and effort if you can buy it for a decent price. It won’t kill you to buy jarred pasta sauce, especially a good-quality one made from wholesome ingredients, and no one I know has died a horrible death because they had a Dellisio pizza for dinner. The point is to know what you want to and can make yourself, and know what you should just buy.

I’m a huge fan of soups, especially on a cold day, and I have a love of (not all that healthy) cream soups. Hey, winter will be here soon. I need my insulation.

Back to soups. I came across another Damn Delicious soup I had pinned and decided that this Cream of Mushroom Soup and some fresh rolls (I’ll talk about those on Wednesday) is what we needed that week.

Boy was I right! The soup turned out amazing… Although the rolls were even better. But the soup was truly fantastic. It was creamy, rich, fragrant, filling, and very flavourful. We had leftovers the next day (although I had to make a fresh batch of rolls), and it was just as delicious. We had enough soup to freeze two servings, too, and it was just as good thawed as it was freshly made (just don’t heat it in the microwave… Much yummier and easier to do in a pot!) 

Cream of Mushroom Soup Yield:

  • Original Yield: 6 servings
  • Actual Yield: 6 servings

Prep Time:

  • Original Prep Time: 10 minutes
  • Actual Prep Time: 40 minutes (I didn’t buy pre-sliced mushrooms, and the onion and I were not friends)

Cook Time:

  • Original Cook Time: 20 minutes
  • Actual Cook Time: 30 minutes

Notes or comments from the author:

  • For the soup to be as thick as hubby and I like, I had to double the amount of cornstarch slurry that Chungah uses. That gave us a nice, thick soup.
  • I had to double the amount of butter I used for cooking the mushrooms, as they absorb it and would have burnt if I hadn’t added more. Mushrooms love butter, so never be afraid to add extra if your recipe seems to leave them a bit dry!

Verdict: Success (with modifications)! This soup is delicious. I’ll be making it again for sure, and maybe doing a double batch to freeze some more for a lazy day. The flavour is nice and rich, nothing like the canned stuff, and even though it took a bit longer than posted to make the soup, I’m thrilled and amazed at how quickly it came together and how well the flavours developed in such a short time.

 Cream of Mushroom Soup 
**Please note, the recipe for Cream do Mushroom Soup is in no way mine. The views and experiences above are mine and not endorsed/influenced by Damn Delicious or any other third party.

Leave a Reply

