My Secret Ingredient

Pasta Very often when I cook, I stick to the recipe I’m following and never deviate. Hubby, on the other hand, is amazing at putting together flavours and throws together some amazing dinners simply using his knowledge of flavour combinations. He’s never made a meal I didn’t like.

One ingredient that often finds itself in his adhoc recipes is goat cheese. We both love the flavour and creaminess it brings to dishes, and tend to have it on hand fairly often because of that. Many of my favourite dishes include goat cheese, and when I came across a pin for Roasted Red Pepper and Goat Cheese Alfredo Pasta from Closet Cooking, I immediately put it on my menu for the next week. And it did not disappoint! It was creamy, tangy, and just amazingly delicious! Here are the details. 

Pasta 

Yield:

  • Original Yield: 2 servings
  • Actual Yield: 2 servings, although if we had made a bit more pasta, there would have been enough sauce for 4 servings

Prep Time:

  • Original Prep Time: 5 minutes
  • Actual Prep Time: 25 minutes (

Cook Time:

  • Original Cook Time: 10 minutes
  • Actual Cook Time: 15 minutes

Notes or comments from the author:

  • Kevin (author of Closet Cooking) makes his own roasted red peppers (the recipe is linked in the ingredients for this dish), but as we’re a little short on time these days, we used the jarred kind, which worked beautifully. Maybe next time we’ll make our own.
  • Kevin serves the sauce over the pasta, while I tossed my pasta in the sauce instead (I put the cooked pasta right into the skillet with the sauce). This gave me a well-coated pasta dish, which is how we like it best. We also skipped the basil garnish as hubby isn’t a basil fan.
  • As I mentioned above, there was more than enough sauce for the amount of cooked pasta. I could have doubled the amount of pasta and still had enough sauce.
  • You could add some chicken into the dish as well, as the sauce would pair perfectly! Either cook about a pound of chicken (2 medium breasts), then slice it, or use half of a rotisserie chicken to keep things quick and easy.

Verdict: Success! This dish is going to be a staple for us I’m sure. It’s simple to make, amazingly creamy and tangy, and makes enough for leftovers or lunch the next day. We usually have the ingredients needed on hand, too, and picking up a jar or roasted red peppers isn’t a huge inconvenience or expense. Let’s just hope that our little one likes goat cheese as much as we do!

 Pasta 
**Please note, the recipe for Roasted Red Pepper and Goat Cheese Alfredo Pasta is in no way mine. The views and experiences above are mine and not endorsed/influenced by Closet Cooking or any other third party.

Leave a Reply

