A Meal By Any Other Name

It was not that long ago when I came across my first ‘food transformation’ as I call it. You know, like when you have something like a pizza in another form, say, a pasta. Since then, I seem to find these kinds of recipes everywhere. Lasagna soup. Pepperoni pizza pasta. Enchilada skillet. Loaded potato soup.

That last one caught hubby’s eye, so we decided to give it a try. I found several recipes, and we decided to start with this Slow Cooker Loaded Potato Soup from Cooking Classy. Baked potatoes are delicious, and doubly so when topped with sour cream, chives, bacon, and cheese. And since the weather is cooling off a bit, what better way to finish off a work day than with a yummy soup and fresh bread!

In retrospect, I should have left the soup non-puréed first, but I didn’t, so I’ll have to make this recipe again (halving it… This made a ton of soup!). I found the soup to be very rich, almost too rich, after puréeing, but until I try it the other way, I’m not going to knock this recipe. It wouldn’t be fair to blame Jaclyn for that.

The soup turned out delicious, though, even if it was a bit rich. The bacon and green onion added the perfect crunch and zing to contrast the creamy potato, sour cream, and cheese medley. This is the kind of soup you want to eat while curled up in a warm blanket on your couch, watching the snow fall or the rain patter on the windows while the leaves fall from the trees. Add some cozy, fluffy socks, and you’re ready for the cold weather! 

Loaded Potato Soup 

Yield:

  • Original Yield: 6 servings
  • Actual Yield: 8 servings (could be 10, with how rich the puréed version was…)

Prep Time:

  • Original Prep Time: None
  • Actual Prep Time: 30 minutes (peeling potatoes takes time)

Cook Time:

  • Original Cook Time: 4 hours (high) or 8 hours (low) + 2+ minutes for roux + 10 minutes to thicken 
  • Actual Cook Time: 8 hours (high) + 15 minutes for roux + 10 minutes to thicken

Notes or comments from the author:

  • Jaclyn suggests either mashing the potatoes with a masher or puréeing the soup before serving. I mashed the potatoes before deciding to purée everything… That gave me a VERY VERY rich soup (as I mentioned above). We were only able to eat a bit more than a half bowl each. Next time, I’ll try it without the puréeing. 

Verdict: Success! I’ll be giving this recipe another go and sticking to just mashing the potatoes. I’ll update this review accordingly once I do that. If you want a rich soup, then go ahead and purée it. The flavour was amazing!! I think I’d add some more bacon (and I’m not even a massive fan of bacon) to get a nice crunch here and there. This soup tastes like a loaded baked potato and doesn’t take a lot of effort. It’s a keeper!!

The bread I made to have with this soup is one of my go-to recipes. It’s a simple and delicious French boule that I’ll give you the details on soon. Promise! Loaded Potato Soup 

** Please note, the recipe for Loaded Potato Slow Cooker Soup is in no way mine. The views and experiences above are mine and not endorsed/influenced by Cooking Classy or any other third party.

On another note, I apologize if my next few posts are late, like this one. Our little one is teething, so my priorities are a little shifted. Thanks for understanding, and see you next time!!

Leave a Reply

