The Perfect Partner

 Garlic, Herb, and Cheese Rolls So on Wednesday I shared an amazing Tomato Parm soup, and I mentioned that made some rolls to go along with it for dinner. I promised to tell you all about them, so here we are!

I was browsing my savoury baking board on Pinterest to find a suitable bread or roll to make with the amazing tomato soup I was cooking, and I stumbled upon this recipe for Garlic, Herb, and Cheese Rolls and since the soup had both garlic and Parmesan in it I figured I’d use those flavours to tie the meal together. Let me tell you, it worked like a charm! The rolls turned out great the first time around, and even better the second and third times.
 Garlic, Herb, and Cheese Rolls 
Here’s how it all went down.

Yield:

  • Original Yield: 15 rolls (how are they all so even?!?! Sorcery!)
  • Actual Yield: 15 rolls (not nearly as beautifully even as the original blog post, but still delicious!)

Prep Time:

  • Original Prep Time: 15 minutes
  • Actual Prep Time: 20 minutes (garlic and I are not friends…)

Baking Time:

  • Original Baking Time: 20 minutes
  • Actual Baking Time: 20 minutes

Notes or comments from the author:

  • It’s mentioned that the total time for this recipe is 2 hours, due to the rising time for the dough after mixing and after being shaped into the rolls. I let the dough rise for the full hour the first time (suggested 45 min – 1 hour) and let the rolls rise for 20 minutes (suggested 30 minutes). Make sure to account for this extra time when making these!
  • The first time I made these, I used dry herbs instead of fresh ones (I was out of fresh). I used just under half a tablespoon of each, and the taste was quite a bit stronger than expected. The second time I used dry herbs again, but this time I used closer to 1/4 of a tablespoon… It was much better. Of course I tried the recipe with fresh herbs a third time (I had to make sure that I wasn’t taking points from the author for a substitution I did on my own!) and using the given amount (1 tablespoon of each) turned out to be a bit strong for my tastes… Not as strong as my first batch but stronger than my second.

Verdict: Success (with modifications)! This is a recipe I’m keeping in my repertoire for sure! These rolls smelled amazing coming out of the oven, worked amazing well paired with my new favourite tomato soup, and they freeze amazingly well, too! I’ll be using fresh herbs for this recipe whenever I can (so worth it), but I’ll keep the amounts under 1 tablespoon… Although next time I’m adding a bit of extra cheese. Why? Because it’s cheese! What a silly question!

 Garlic, Herb, and Cheese Rolls 
This weekend, like the last, I won’t be posting as I am attending the funeral of a dear friend. Tune in next week for some kicker Korean beef and more!

**Please note, the recipe for Garlic, Herb, and Cheese Rolls is in no way mine. The views and experiences above are mine and not endorsed/influenced by Handle the Heat or any other third party.

Leave a Reply

