The Lemon Rosemary A-Side

 Lemon Rosemary Roasted Potatoes 
If you’re a non-athlete like I am, and if you would permit me to give you a word (or several) of advice, then remember this: If you’re asked to do a charity walk/run of 5km or more, do only one per weekend. Unless you want to be sore and not able to move from your couch.

I’ve done the Toronto RBC Run for the Kids two years in a row now. Last year I had been training to run the 5km, but found out I was pregnant, so I walked it instead. This year, I signed up again, ready to jog behind my stroller… I ended up walking it (briskly, though!). Now, 5km isn’t a massive distance, but when you include having to get up at 7, prepping yourself and your little one, driving up to the race location, and then doing the walk/run… Well, I was tired by the end. Of course, this year, I also signed up for the Terry Fox run with a group I’m part of, not realizing that the race was the day after the RBC 5km. Also, it started earlier and was farther (so, more getting up really early and driving far, grump!) We ended up walking 6km at the Terry Fox run (although three of our group got lost and ended up walking a total of about 20km), and by the time I walked in the door on Sunday afternoon, I didn’t want to walk anymore. Two races in a weekend are never a good idea, even if you’re just walking them.

Enough of my complaining! I seem to always start with these asides, don’t I…

Let’s chat about side dishes, instead. To me, they tend to be an afterthought most of the time. I’m a huge fan of both one-pot meals and dishes that require a basic ‘sort-of’ side (like having Beef Broccoli and making rice with it)… You know, the kind of side that doesn’t require much time or thought or work. Sometimes, though, you want a side that’s a bit more than just your boring starch or steamed veggie.

Hubby and I have a favourite sausage from the farmer’s market we like to have every now and then, and we usually have it with mashed potatoes or a potato salad (if hubby feels like making it). That’s a bit repetitive though, so when I decided that we were going to be having sausages for dinner, I decided to look through my Pinterest boards to find a fun side to try. I stumbled upon Chungah’s Lemon Rosemary Roasted Potatoes (can you tell I love the Damn Delicious blog??). We didn’t need 6 servings, so I cut the recipe in half and added the ingredients to my shopping list (we had most of them already).

 Lemon Rosemary Roasted Potatoes 
Maybe it was because I did only half the recipe, but the lemon rosemary flavour was very mild… Or maybe it’s supposed to be more subtle? Or maybe I’m spoiled by the very lemony Greek-style potatoes hubby makes sometimes? Whatever it is, I was definitely hoping for more flavour, and I didn’t get it. Saying that, I will tell you that the potatoes came out nicely done, crisp on the outside and creamy in the inside. They paired very well with the sausages too! It’s a side I’ll definitely be trying again, with some changes of course. Want the details?

Yield:

  • Original Yield: 6 servings
  • Actual Yield: 6 servings (after halving the recipe, there were enough potatoes for 3 people, so the original amount would have fed 6)

Prep Time:

  • Original Prep Time: 5 minutes
  • Actual Prep Time: 7 minutes (close enough)

Cook Time:

  • Original Cook Time: 30 minutes
  • Actual Cook Time: 35 minutes (the slightly larger potato pieces were almost on the verge of being undercooked, so if you have bigger pieces, I’d recommend keeping them in the oven for a bit longer)

Notes or comments from the author:

  • In the post, Chungah mentions that these potatoes are blooming with flavour… Unfortunately I didn’t get that when I cut the recipe in half the first time. If you do half the potatoes but keep the rest of the recipe the same (juice a while lemon, use all of the rosemary, etc.) the flavour is very much there and it’s just delicious. I do think that using the full amount of potatoes would be fine too, of course.

Verdict: Success (with modifications)! Like I mentioned above, there wasn’t enough lemon rosemary flavour to these potatoes the first time around. Make sure to make the full amount and you won’t be disappointed though! These are so easy, I’ll definitely be using them as a side for dishes other than sausage!

 Lemon Rosemary Roasted Potatoes

** Please note, the recipe for Lemon Rosemary Roasted Potatoes is in no way mine. The views and experiences above are mine and not endorsed/influenced by Damn Delicious or any other third party.

    Leave a Reply

    