Pockets Are Awesome

If there’s one pet peeve, one annoyance, that’s common for all of the women I know, it’s a lack of pockets. Seriously. Men get pockets everywhere… Jeans? Yup. Button-up shirts? Check. Dress pants? Mhmm. But women? We aren’t nearly as lucky… It’s as if the pocket gods decided, Hey… Why give her pockets when she can use a purse? Or a clutch? I mean, sure, we have a gazillion options when it comes to bags and purses, and I’m truly grateful for that (I can’t imagine trying to stuff diapers, wipes, blankets, toys, extra onesies, and a pair of socks into my back pocket along with my phone, wallet, keys, and whatever else I may inadvertently be stashing in my diaper bag), but sometimes a purse isn’t practical or it’s just too much. One of my closest friends usually has nothing more than her phone, wallet, and keys on her, and has to resort to using my purse for storage when she isn’t in a pair of jeans or doesn’t have a jacket. Did the pocket and purse gods have a fight? Can’t we women just have both? Sure, my jeans have pockets, but they are usually cut so that putting things into said pockets is neigh on impossible. My dress pants for work? Fake pockets. Dress shirts? Don’t make me laugh! Skirts? Hah. Dresses? Yeah right. It’s gotten so bad that if I find a dress with pockets (gasp! They exist!!!) I buy it almost immediately and have to work very hard not to get it in every colour available. I like pockets. Pockets are awesome. They’re super useful. I just wish the pocket gods would see that.

Know what other kind of pockets are awesome? Dough pockets, filled with deliciousness (like ham and cheese) and baked to a golden brown. Like these Ham and Cheese Pockets from Jo Cooks. Go make these. Now. Wait… Scroll down to see the one little (but crucial) change I made, then go make these. If you don’t think you like ‘hot pockets’, make these. You will be an instant convert. You will want to make these again the moment you run out. I’m actually debating making a double batch and freezing them for a quick post-work snack. Hubby and I even came up with a breakfast/brunch variation I’m planning to try out soon (if it works, I’ll post it for you!). Until then, try this recipe!!

Just look at these things!

 Ham and Cheese Pockets 
Let’s get started, shall we?

Yield:

  • Original Yield: 8 pockets
  • Actual Yield: depends on how large or small you make the pockets. I made 12 smaller ones

Prep Time:

  • Original Prep Time: 30 minutes (mentioned in the actual post but not in the prep time at the beginning is the 1 hour rise time required for the dough before you can start making the pockets.)
  • Actual Prep Time: 2 hours (15 minutes to make the dough, 1 hour rise time, another 15 minutes to build/make the rolls, 30 minutes rise time)

Bake time:

  • Original Bake Time: 20-25 minutes
  • Actual Bake Time: 26 minutes (I count this to be on par with the original time as oven temperatures can vary)

Notes or comments from the author:

  • Jo notes that you don’t have to bother sealing the pockets… This means the cheese can easily leak out. I decided to try and seal mine, and I didn’t do a great job of it, so I had cheese all over the baking sheet. If you’re ok with that, then by all means don’t seal them and portion them out with the crispy, melty cheese coming out the sides (it’s what I did and it didn’t detract from the final product at all). Next time, though, I’m going to go about building these delicious pockets a little differently so that I can better seal them and keep the cheesy cheddar goodness inside. I’ll probably add an update when I do that.

Verdict: Successful (with modifications)! If you haven’t already, go make these right NOW! You don’t have the ingredients? Go buy them! It’s 3am? Find a 24-hour grocery store! No excuses! I will wait for you to come back. Go to Jo’s blog, print out the recipe, stick it in your pocket (hey, even hubby’s PJs have pockets and mine don’t!), and make them.

 Ham and Cheese Pockets 
**Please note, the recipe for Ham and Cheese Pockets is in no way mine. The views and experiences above are mine and not endorsed/influenced by Jo Cooks or any other third party.

    Leave a Reply

    